## Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, February 13, 2018)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, February 13, 2018

## **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

### 1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

## **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda which contains the minutes of February 6, 2018, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

## 2. MAIN AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

## A. ST. MARY'S COLLEGE OF MARYLAND - State of the College

**Present:** Dr. Tuajuanda C. Jordan, President Charles C. Jackson, Vice President

Dr. Jordan described the mission of St. Mary's College and presented an overview of college, the resources it has to offer not only to the students but to the community, and plans for the future.

### 3. LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

## A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Legislative Update

**Present:** David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney

<u>HB 331 – Public Facility Bonds</u> - A hearing has been set for March 6 at 1:00 p.m. in the Appropriations Committee.

Motion 1: I move to approve and sign the letter of support for HB 331 - St. Mary's County Public Facility Bonds.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion 2: I make a motion to approve the reappointments of the nominees of the Library Board.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion 3: I make a motion requesting the St. Mary's County Delegation withdraw HB136.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion 4: I move to have county staff, at the direction of the County Administrator, do a thorough legal review and procedural vetting of a proposed MOU between the CSMS and the SMC Library Board of Trustees, place it into a proper legal document for consideration, send it to the St. Mary's County Library Board of Trustees for their consideration as a board, and place it on our next available agenda for consideration, ensuring that it is posted and available for public view at least 48 hours in advance to action being taken by the CSMC.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

## 4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

**A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR FEBRUARY 27 AND MARCH 6, 2018.** There will be no meeting of the Commissioners on February 20, 2018.

**B. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES** - Award Recommendation for Medical, Prescription, Dental and Vision Insurance Coverage

I move to approve a three year contract for Medical, Prescription, Dental and Vision coverage with CareFirst beginning July 1, 2018 and ending June 30, 2021, with two (2) one (1) year renewal options.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

## 5. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

#### MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

I move to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing Real Property and Litigation Strategy.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### 6. EXECUTIVE SESSION

## A. LITIGATION

**Present:** James R. Guy, President

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner

John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney Jeanette Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer Brandon Hayden, Procurement Manager

Mike Rynd, Karpinski, Colaresi & Karp, P.A (via conference call)

Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(2) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u>

Time Held: 10:21 am - 10:44 am Location: John Savich Meeting Room Purpose: To discuss litigation strategy.

# B. REAL PROPERTY

**Present:** James R. Guy, President

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney

Arthur Shepherd, Director, Dept. of Recreation and Parks

Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(6) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Time Held: 10:46 am - 10:49 am Location: John Savich Meeting Room Purpose: To discuss litigation strategy.

### C. LITIGATION

**Present:** James R. Guy, President

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney

John Dietrick, Director, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation

Catherine Pratson, Director, Dept. of Human Resources

Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(2) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u>

Time Held: 10:53 am - 11:24 am Location: John Savich Meeting Room Purpose: To discuss litigation strategy.

# 7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:24 am.	
Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's Count	y on <u>2/27/18</u> .
SLF	
Sharon Ferris, Administrative Assistant	

# **8. BUDGET WORK SESSION**

## A. DEPT. OF FINANCE

Present: Jeannette Cudmore, CFO

Patty Steigman, Deputy Director

The Commissioners received a follow-up from the February 6, 2018 work session regarding capital projects, discussed revenues and reviewed Elected Officials Operating Budget for FY2019.

# 9. ADJOURN